The promotion of young scientists is one of the ÖGMBT’s main goals.

Regularly awarding scientific prizes is an important measure to support early-stage researchers.
Additionally, these awards highlight the excellence in the Austrian research landscape and increase the visibility of exceptional life sciences topics in the public.

Life Science Awards Austria

Each year, the ÖGMBT initiates a unique nationwide search in order to find the brightest young researchers in the Life Sciences field across all of Austria.

There are different award categories available:

Life Science Research Awards Austria

  • Basic Science (1 Prize à € 3.000.-)
  • Applied Research (1 Prize à € 3.000.-)
  • Excellence & Societal Impact (1 Prize à € 3.000.-) This is a special prize bestowed among all applicants for basic science and applied research awards and who can convince the jury with a meaningful presentation of the possible social impact of their work.

Life Science PhD Awards Austria

  • Basic Science (1 Prize à € 1.000.-)
  • Applied Research (1 Prize à € 1.000.-)

The award ceremony takes place at the ÖGMBT Annual Meeting where the awardees have the unique chance of opening the conference and presenting their winning work in front of the who-is-who of the Austrian Life Sciences scene.
Find out detailed information and current deadlines by clicking on the respective award link.

Applicants may only apply for either the PhD Awards or the Research Awards in the respective year.

To support the submission process we have developed a new online application tool which is available to all applicants. Life Science Awards will start again in May 2022.


Best Talk and Best Poster Awards at the Annual Meeting:

Out of all talks and poster presentations at the ÖGMBT’s Annual Meeting, several prizes for the Best Talk and Best Poster are awarded to young scientists each year. Click on the respective link for more information about these awards.



These are the winners of Life Science Awards Austria 2021 - Photo gallery